Review | A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood

A Sky Painted Gold

by Laura Wood

YA Romance, Historical Fiction

Goodreads | Bookshop | Book Depository


Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer, seventeen-year-old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years. And when the owners arrive for the summer – a handsome, dashing brother and sister – Lou is quite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktail parties and glamour beyond her wildest dreams.

But, as she grows closer to the Cardews, is she abandoning her own ambitions… And is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?

A gorgeously dreamy coming-of-age romance set against a stunning Gatsby-esque backdrop, this is perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson.


A Sky Painted Gold has been on my TBR for so long, not only because I’ve heard so many lush things about it, but also because the premise sounded amazing – and I felt like it would also be some perfect research for my current WIP set in 1910s England! So did it live up to the hype?

This book follows the story of country girl Lou, who is a frequent visitor of the grand Cardew house where she uses their library to read and write at her own free will. But one summer, the enigmatic Cardew siblings arrive and everything she once knew changes as she is thrown headfirst into a modern world of glitz and glamour, and she must follow where her heart takes her.

I honestly loved this book. The first thing that immediately stood out to me about this was Laura Wood’s writing. Her prose was exceptional, and her descriptive language was so visceral that as soon as I read the words on her page I was instantly transported to the setting and as one with these stunning characters she created. It’s clear she has such a gifted way with words, because I found myself admiring the beauty of every word and sentence that followed. The romance was absolutely beautiful too, I really enjoyed it!

I loved Lou as a main character, I thought she was the perfect choice for a YA protagonist. She felt so authentic and I loved reading more about her story, and how much she cared for her family and those around her, as well as wanting to chase her own dreams of being a writer even if back then women weren’t usually allowed to dream of anything more than being a home wife and bearing children for their husband.

The first 50 or so pages were a bit slow, so it took me a while to get in, but once I had both feet in the door, I was rushing through this gorgeous story like there was no tomorrow. So visual, described so well and so aesthetically pleasing. I will definitely be checking out more of Laura Wood’s books!