Review: The Love Hypothesis by Laura Steven

love hypothesis

The Love Hypothesis

by Laura Steven

YA Romance, Contemporary

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Physics genius Caro Kerber-Murphy knows she’s smart. With straight As and a college scholarship already in the bag, she’s meeting her two dads’ colossal expectations and then some. But there’s one test she’s never quite been able to ace: love. And when, in a particularly desperate moment, Caro discovers a (definitely questionable) scientific breakthrough that promises to make you irresistible to everyone around you, she wonders if this could be the key. What happens next will change everything Caro thought she knew chemistry – in the lab and in love.

Is her long-time crush Haruki with her of his own free will? Are her feelings for her best girl friend some sort of side-effect? Will her dog, Sirius, ever stop humping her leg?


I read The Exact Opposite of Okay earlier this year and loved it, so I was really excited to get around to this! And of course, it did not disappoint my expectations.

I love Steven’s style of writing. The way she weaves emotion with humour is very clever and very well done. You can get completely hooked into her characters one minute, and the next you’re laughing out loud. Not many books can do that and I feel like Steven captures it really well.

The Love Hypothesis follows the hilarious story of Caro Kerber-Murphy who is desperate to be loved as much as she loves. When she finds pills online that supposedly makes you irresistible to everyone around you, she is desperate enough to try them. But these pills come with all sorts of side effects and she wonders how she’s supposed to balance them with her new life of fame and attraction.

This was a really interesting premise to start with and I think the book did exactly what it said on the tin. Caro is another fantastic character, as well as the cast of very diverse and equally funny side characters! The book raised questions about consent and identity and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I will definitely be moving A Girl Called Shameless up on my TBR! Would definitely recommend this fun contemporary read!


Rating

 

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

exact opposite of okay

The Exact Opposite of Okay

by Laura Steven

YA Contemporary, Feminist


Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…


Well, hello everyone, it’s been a hot minute since I’ve been on here and reviewed a book, but I want to try my best to get back to being active here (I know I say this literally every time lol, but at least I’m trying!)

Not that I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately, but I’m being consumed alive by my college reading. I’ve to read Dickens’s Bleak House, a gigantic 1,100 page beast for an essay at the end of the month, and I’m also reading Echoes by Maeve Binchy for a group project (which is also a big, scary book). Throw them in with my other college work, my job, my hobbies and my own personal reading, something’s gotta give. But over the last three weeks, I read The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven and it was definitely the breath of fresh air I’ve longed for for so long!

This feminist anthem of a book follows the story of aspiring writer Izzy O’Neill, who after her nudes get leaked by a massive dickhead, she is thrown head-first into a national slut-shaming scandal. It is a timely depiction of the unfairness of gender and how women are treated after such a scandal compared to that of how a man is. Not only that, but it’s got amazing diversity and is a book that has made me laugh out loud multiple times.

This was super easy to read and the humour made you want to return to it every time you put it down. Steven created a variety of different characters, and I enjoyed falling in love with Izzy and Ajita as the pages went on. I can’t say the same for certain other characters, however, but I’m sure they’ll become obvious to you when you read.

I did have one tiny issue with how quickly she forgave a certain someone towards the end of the book, but other than that I really enjoyed this fresh voice in YA and I will definitely be checking out the sequel!

Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne.


Rating