Review: Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye

date me

Date Me, Bryson Keller

by Kevin van Whye

YA Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQ

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Everyone knows about the dare: Each week, Bryson Keller must date someone new–the first person to ask him out on Monday morning. Few think Bryson can do it. He may be the king of Fairvale Academy, but he’s never really dated before.

Until a boy asks him out, and everything changes.

Kai Sheridan didn’t expect Bryson to say yes. So when Bryson agrees to secretly go out with him, Kai is thrown for a loop. But as the days go by, he discovers there’s more to Bryson beneath the surface, and dating him begins to feel less like an act and more like the real thing. Kai knows how the story of a gay boy liking someone straight ends. With his heart on the line, he’s awkwardly trying to navigate senior year at school, at home, and in the closet, all while grappling with the fact that this “relationship” will last only five days. After all, Bryson Keller is popular, good-looking, and straight . . . right?

Kevin van Whye delivers an uplifting and poignant coming-out love story that will have readers rooting for these two teens to share their hearts with the world–and with each other.


When I first heard this book after my friend Gabbie’s recommendation, I just knew it was something I had to read for #LGBTQMonth!

Based loosely off a 90s rom-com classic, Date Me Bryson Keller has one of the best premises I’ve ever heard! Bryson Keller is the popular guy at school and currently taking part in a dare that means every week he has to date someone new, the first person who asks him out. This whole time it’s been girls, until Kai works up the courage to ask him out and everything spirals from there — including the truth about a lot of things.

I really enjoyed this one! I was honestly expecting it to go in a certain direction but it ended up doing a complete 360 and go the other way! I wasn’t mad though because though at times it was heartbreaking and I especially connected to it growing up gay and having to come out during school, there were so many heartwarming moments. I don’t want to spoil it, but rarely do you see generally happy love stories between two queer characters where there isn’t any major disaster or hurdles for them to overcome. This was a joy to read and I felt myself smiling the whole way through. I mean, can a review get better than that?

I loved all the characters, but especially our main two. They just had such likeable personalities and despite their little flaws, I still found myself completely rooting for them! A perfect, sweet romance if you’re looking for a nice summer read. I can’t wait to see what Kevin van Whye does next. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Becky Albertalli!


4 star