Review | A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll

A Kind of Spark

by Elle McNicoll

MG Contemporary

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A KIND OF SPARK tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there’s more to the story of these ‘witches’, just like there is more to hers. Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and her autism, and make her voice heard? A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy.


I’ve seen this book on my timeline so much, and although I’m not huge into middle grade, I wanted to see what the fuss was about. Also my friend Amy adores it, and I value her opinion very much so.

A Kind of Spark follows Addie, a young girl with autism, who makes it her mission to make a memorial in her town for all the witches that were wrongfully killed back during the Witch Trials. In doing so, she also wants to show the town that their perceptions of her are wrong and she is capable of a whole lot more than they give her credit for.

I absolutely loved this book! I thought it was such a sweet, joyful read and I really enjoyed being a part of Addie’s story. I thought the characters were all great in this, especially Addie’s older sisters. I love how they contrasted each other!

I also really enjoyed how McNicoll weaved the past with the present so wonderfully. I liked that she was able to put Addie at the centre of the story but also pay tribute to the women who came before her. This was very powerful and such an important read, and now I totally understand the hype about it! Definitely for fans of Wonder and The Goldfish Boy!