Review: A Kiss in the Dark by Cat Clarke

AKITD

A Kiss in the Dark

by Cat Clarke

YA Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.

When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant.

Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy – everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend.

Alex can’t help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive…

But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives…


I’m an absolute sucker for Cat Clarke. I think this is my third novel of hers, and I just love her books!

I love how easily Clarke blends mystery with contemporary. It’s what makes her books so hooking I think – because I’m always left wanting to find out how the story unfolds as I read. In A Kiss in the Dark, we follow our conflicting main character Alex, who is coming to terms with her sexuality and feelings for Kate so she decides to do the completely rational thing of pretending to be a boy so Kate will return her feelings. But as you would expect, when someone is hiding a secret as massive as this, not everything goes to plan…

With an instantly intriguing plot, this novel managed to pull it off so well. Clarke really amped up the tension and atmosphere throughout and I felt sucked into the story. My favourite thing about this was how complex each of the characters were. Instantly I was against what Alex was doing and could never imagine sympathising with her, and I could never manage not sympathising Kate but I feel like there were moments towards the end where both characters ended up being so morally grey! A really interesting read and another compelling novel. I’m slowly working my way through her back catalogue and she’s cementing herself as one of my favourite UKYA authors.

If you’re not reading Cat Clarke for some great LGBTQ rep—you’re really missing out!


4 star

Review: I’ll Be Home For Christmas

ibhfc

Publisher: Stripes Publishing
Release Date: 22nd September 2016
Genre: YA, Short Stories
Pages: 384


The UK’s top Young Adult authors join together in this collection of new stories and poems on the theme of home. Contributors include: Tom Becker, Holly Bourne, Sita Brahmachari, Kevin Brooks, Melvin Burgess, Katy Cannon , Cat Clarke, Juno Dawson, Julie Mayhew, Non Pratt, Marcus Sedgwick, Lisa Williamson and Benjamin Zephaniah. GBP1 from the sale of every book will be donated to Crisis, the national homelessness charity. 


I think it’s quite obvious from the books that I’ve read that I was really excited to get this book. I feel like I’ve been saying I’m excited for this book repeatedly in my last few blogs, but I can’t help it, I just am really excited about lots of books, lmao…
Anyways… the main authors I was looking forward to reading in this were HOLLY BOURNE (AKA MY QUEEN), LISA WILLIAMSON and my recently discovered new favourite NON PRATT!
It’s hard to talk about this book without going into too much detail about each and every individual story. If I had to pick my top three it would honestly be Lisa Williamson’s, Non Pratt’s and Juno Dawson’s!
I know, I know, Holly’s name isn’t in my top three and I feel like I’m saying the biggest sin right now but her story just didn’t do it for me. I found it (not dissimilar from a few others, might I add) to be a bit boring. I think my problem with it is that maybe I wanted more because I didn’t really feel like it told a story with a beginning, middle and end. Anyways, I’m going to STOP myself right now from slating Holly Bourne because she is a cinnamon roll and does not deserve it.
Overall, I was a bit disappointed with the stories because most of them I found to be too short but I think that his kind of anthology is a great way to discover never-before-read UKYA authors! Like for example, I’ve read nothing by Cat Clarke before but now I’m more than ever eager to get my hands on The Lost & the Found!!
Yeah…so, it was a small tiny bit disappointing but some of the stories hit home for me (Juno) so I’m glad that I read it.
Also, it put me in a real Christmassy mood so only 11 months to go!!!

I’m gonna give this 3 stars out of 5, although my Goodreads differs :/